Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I need guidance....... 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

miprimo

Civil/Environmental
Jul 22, 2004
US
.....Hello everyone, I'm a CADD Tech for a civil engineering firm in Fla., I have 5 years of Land Surveying and 5 years of Civil experience. I'm not involve in the design process and would like to learn, step by step how it's done, in my office everyone is to busy to take the time. I understand is not something that can be learned from one day to the next, but I like to feel challenged and I don't feel that I am anymore. (drainage calcs., pipe sizeing, min. perimeter elev., f.f.e., control water elev., water, sewer).
Any info will be appreciated. Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If there is a community college in your area you might consider taking some courses in Civil Engineering. You could work toward an associates degree or go farther and try for a BSCE. It is sad that your firm is so short sighted that no one makes the time to train younger employees who are willing to learn. Consider another employer who will.

good luck

First, realize that a lot of design tasks are not learned at universities, so you are not necessarily at a huge disadvantage compared to an entry level engineer. A whole lot of civil engineering is code-based, where your design is developed to meet code requirements and development standards that are set by a local agency, rather than on the basis of the laws of physics or other academic approaches.