Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

i need help on a aeronautic experiment 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

icebraker

Sep 20, 2000
US
I am a 10th grade student and I enjoy physics and aeronautics and I need help. I am conducting an experiment on three different types of wings. They are Delta, Swept, and Straight.
I need to show the difference in the designs and how can I do this with a model wind tunnel. I have tried before, but when I put the aircraft model in a turn position and the angel of attack, the air flow is still straight and I feel it is not giving me a true reading on how the wing design would affect manuverablity and speed. Is there a solution to my problem.

Also do you know of any mathmatic formulas that could help me in this experiment and what each means.

I thank you,
Stephen Lehrter [sig][/sig]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hello Stephen,
The basic difference between those three planform types is the slope of the lift curve. Granted, they also have different critical mach numbers, but I doubt your wind tunnel will produce transonic flows. If it can, let me know and we'll talk about it. Everything below is assuming (relatively) low speed incompressible flow.
The straight wing will have the steepest lift curve slope. That is, it will generate more lift per degree of angle of attack than either the swept or delta. This is the fundamental difference and you can show this by plotting lift vs. angle of attack.
Deltas and swept wings are not as efficient in turns because of this difference. To turn level, the wing has to generate more lift (try the vector math, it's relatively simple). Generating more lift creates more drag, and the straight wing is most efficient at this. Your data should show that the delta is least efficient in a turn because it generates the greatest increase in drag for a unit increase in lift.