Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I need test engineering tips, I'm a new oneííí

Status
Not open for further replies.

alexandro

Industrial
Apr 25, 2001
US
Im in a cd-roms boards repair line, Im new in this kind of job, I have seen too many deficiencies in this repair line, and also I need increase production from an average of 780 repair pcb up to 1000 pcb every week, first I need to decide if there anything wrong in the process or if I only need to reorder production flow.
Any help will be appreciate¡¡¡
Thanks¡¡¡

Im working with 5 models but all have the same procedure to test them, I already set all the pc's to test without problema each model so, this isn't the main problem, I have 6 test stations and also 3 repair line and 1 analysis station out of the main flow.
Thanks..
I'll be waiting your reply!!!

Suggestions:
1. One way to increase the productivity is to create an access to a knowledge base, which you may have or may have to create. This would standardize and expedite the process.
2. There may be a need to add some diagnostic hardware.
3. If there is any sharing available, then it should be implemented, e.g. share expertise among the technicians.
4. Etc.

Hello Alexandro!

I too have been tech supervisor on a repair line, and I was blessed with a master technician who taught me the following line speed tricks:

1) Keep track of symptoms and what fixed them. Jbartos (a great help, by the way) suggested a "knowledge base". I used a paper notebook and took info for a week.

2) Segregate your boards into groups by their symptoms.

3) Have troubleshooter(s) work into each symptom pile, one group at a time. She or he will become amazingly fast at nailing the faults within each group, because the list of faults will be sharply limited.