Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

I need to test mixing J1850 and J19

Status
Not open for further replies.

RRiver

Automotive
May 21, 2018
US
I need to test mixing J1850 and J1949 protocols on a vehicle CAN Bus. Both signals are operating at the OBDII application level. Because both signals are operating at the same OBDII I don't see any problems and none of the later extended format signals are involved. I do want to protect the modules though should I be wrong and place a signal blocking device like a diode on the signal Bus so nothing can inadvertently backtrack and damage the source module. I'm no electrical engineer though. Will a diode work for this and what size would I need?

The purpose or goal of this testing is to retroactively update older vehicle electronics without reinventing the wheel for the garage mechanics building cars but have no understanding of modern vehicle electronics. I can further explain what's going on but want to avoid an essay for now.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Something seems amiss. What is J1949?

I would guess that operating multiple standards on the same wires is much the same as adding electrical noise and will interfere with and/or degrade the performance of the various components.

My mistake. Sorry. J1939 which allows for the extended frame format is what it should have read. I'm not sure why you say interference and degrade? Isn't the worst that can happen is the signal is rejected by the Bus? If accepted by the Bus the worst that can happen is there is no place that will accept the signal.