Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

I really need some advice 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

nrhoades

Electrical
Mar 2, 2011
US
I have a BS in Electrical Engineering from Northeastern University. When I graduated in 2006, I left the school with $80k in loans. I took a job with the Naval Undersea Warfare Center (NUWC) in RI, and have been working there for the past 5+ years. The reason I took the job was because of loans, and because the Navy pays for 100% of graduate tuition. I am due to graduate with a Masters of EE in Solid State Design in the spring, and my loans are down to $55k.

I've wanted to be a EE since I was 7. I always used to have my parents drive me to RadioShack and I'd buy those nostalgic protoboards and make all of the projects in the book. I've always dreamed of being a designer, of some sort.

I haven't done any engineering at NUWC. They don't design at all. In fact, they only act as middlemen for the program office to direct contractors to build parts for subs. I have been able to do some C and Python programming for testing radio receivers, but I figured it all out by myself. There is no mentorship, and zero EE.

When I get my Masters degree, I want to move on. But there are absolutely no jobs in Rhode Island, so Massachusetts seems like the closest option. The problem is, will I have to start over? How do I start over with no transportable experience? What options do I really have, and have I ruined the beginning of my career?

I do have a girlfriend that lives with me with a BS in Chemistry, and she can't find a decent job either.