Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

I'm a subsea engineer with mechanic

Status
Not open for further replies.

suraiya

Materials
Feb 9, 2002
MY
I'm a subsea engineer with mechanical background. Recently I was assigned to a project which require design of a subsea umbilical, which will comprise bundle of hydraulic and chemical tubes as well as power and signal cable. Being a mechanical guy, I really need some basic idea on the power cable part.

The power cable is actually carrying communication signal as well (signal on power). I need to select between a quad cable and 2-pair cable. My questions (at least for now!!) are:

1)what are the basic advantage and limitation (in term of load, distance, cost, lifecycle etc) between these two.

2)do i need to screen the cable or not, bearing in mind that this is signal on power cable. If indeed yes, should I screen every single cable within the bundle, or suffice to screen the bundle (quad/pair)only?

Well, obviously I'll talk to an expert at a later stage, but first round input from this forum will be really helpful.
Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Normally you are trying to prevent radiation from the power cable(s) from inducing noise into the signal cables (control and data.
Also you may want to prevent cross-talk between signal cables.
What may work in one instance may be a complete failure in another installation.
Some methods of interference abatement:
Twisted cables, power conductors twisted together and signal conductors twisted in pairs.
Twisted signal pairs in an overall shield.
Each twisted pair shielded.
Each twisted pair shielded and the power conductors shielded.
One of the above methods combined with physical separation between power and signals.