Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Improving refrigerant leak design in a Core Removal Tool

Status
Not open for further replies.

staruda6

Mechanical
Oct 27, 2009
US
Hi,

I am new to the Core Remover Tool used in the refrigeration industry. I am working on the design related problem where I am seeing a leak in the shaft assembly and not in the ball valve with side port assembly. I want to know if this is a common problem or not. If yes, then can anyone please suggest better ideas to stop the leak?

Thanks,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Can't say it is a common problem. It happens in poorly assembled or very old/used ball valves.

The ball valve should have a cup to cover the stem and prevent leaks to the atmosphere.

The core remover tool can't fix this problem. It is only designed to change schraeder's valve core.

You should change the valve in the next possible system shut down.

Hi gxmplx,

Thank you for your response. The ball valve certainly has a cup that cover the stem to prevent leak. But before you do that you need to pull out the shaft assembly from the ball valve when you are removing the schraeder valve and then close the ball valve. During this time, the refrigerant will leak if the seal on the shaft assembly is not good. This is where I am lacking information, to see if someone else has experienced the same problem and how did they fix it.

Thanks a lot.

Hmmmm…

I suspect we are not talking about the same type of valve or you want to give the core remover tool a use it is not designed for.

Bigger or smaller, the ones I work with have the schraeder valve independent from the stem assembly like here:

With this I mean you don’t front/back seat the valve stem in order to disconnect the schraeder.