Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Increasing air flow rate in a ventilated roof

Status
Not open for further replies.

Todrianth

Civil/Environmental
Mar 17, 2014
RO
Hello!

I had an idea to increase the air flow rate under a metal roof by painting the back layer of the metal roof sheets that are at the upper part of the roof in black (see pic). Therefore the upper part should be slightly hotter than the lower part (since I'm guessing radiation passes through to the back of the metal roof) therefore creating a higher buoyancy. Sorry if this is a stupid idea, I'm not that good at h&m transfer that's why I'm asking here [tongue]. Any cheap ideas on how to increase the air flow are welcomed :). Thanks!

RoofVentConcept1-1.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would rather paint the undersurface of the steel roof white to lessen heat transmission thru the wooden support if that is your reason to increase the air flow.

Thanks all for your responses!

I know but wouldn't airflow be increased if the upper part would be hotter than the bottom part as opposed to constant temperature over the entire roof?

You're right! To increase the temperature difference even more I can paint 6/7 in white (bottom) and 1/7 or less in black (upper part) and also decrease the heat transmission as you said on 85% of the roof.

So maybe I can get thicker or just put two vertical wooden battens on which the horizontal battens sit, therefore increasing the air gap.