Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Indemnity and liability for intellectual property. 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Myndex

Electrical
Jan 14, 2005
US
Indemnity and liability for intellectual property.

I'm an independent designer, and recently a new client has asked me to sign their lawyer's overly long contract (instead of my simple one). Included is a clause indemnifying them, and placing liability for any infringement of intellectual property that could conceivably be found in my design directly on me.

My question is, how much is indemnity insurance (should I chose to sign it seems I should have it) and how much insurance should one get?

Or should I insist that they modify the clause, to something like "will not KNOWINGLY infringe..."

The product is simple, and the productions runs will be so small (10K) that I doubt there's much opportunity for any infringement (in fact, the ID was done elsewhere, I'm only doing the part design).

Thanks for any advice

Andy

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't think so - It's just that this is a start-up project, and they have this aggressive lawyer who's kind of - well, he's a lawyer, and he does what lawyers do.

I don't see anything that is really a liability for me, since my only function is taking the design the ID person did, and turning it into plastic parts. Nevertheless, I don't want to ACCEPT liability, especially at the discount rate I bid.

It's *such* a small job (I doubt I'll bill more than 100 hours to them), I'm wondering if I should walk.

Cheers

Andy

There aren't too many companies that offer full indemnity and even fewer companies that have the chutzpah to demand it. Such a requirement is absurd.