Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Industrial Designer needs help - car remote control

Status
Not open for further replies.

SwissG

Industrial
Jan 24, 2012
HK
Hello all,

I am an Industrial Designer, I design consumer products for a living. Sorry my questions may appear silly!

I am working on a small remote for car locks for a client. Users need to be able to program it (the same way one programs a 2nd set of car keys, by pushing buttons at correct intervals etc) to be able to unlock/lock their car's doors.

Questions:

Is this possible?

1)
Do I need to get specific information from car manufacturers (frequency, signals..) ?

2)
Are all car remotes working the same way? I don't believe I can program a GM key to open a Dodge vehicle, or am I wrong?

Thank you for your input.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Your underlying question is unclear. Are you trying to duplicate an OEM remote, or come up with a universal remote?

If so, the yes, you'll probably need to work VERY closely with the OEM. It's unlikely that any OEM would have frequency or codes similar to anyone else's since that would lead to interference.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

I am trying to create a universal remote.

I understand that each car manufacturer uses a different frequency / codes.

Could user plug it into their PC and download the appropriate data? Or is this not something that can be simply programmed?

I'm confused. You're trying to design a universal remote, yet you know nothing about even your own car remotes? Do you see a USB port anywhere on your own remotes?

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

IRStuff

You are correct, I know nothing about electrical engineering and electronic car keys. The product I am working on is not your typical electric keyfob.