Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Industrial power systems protection

Status
Not open for further replies.

apprenteng

Electrical
Jul 31, 2008
KE
I am relatively new in this field but I have been assigned a duty to train some of our client's on application of various relays on protection of industrial motors and associated transformers. I need help, may be with literature or specific notes on application of the above please.

Than you guys.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Check out faq238-1287

----------------------------------
image.php

If we learn from our mistakes I'm getting a great education!

IEEE Std 242, IEEE Recommended Practice for Protection and Coordination of Industrial and Commercial Power Systems, Buff Book.

apprenteng--

Not a reflection you, BUT...

Does anybody besides me see something wrong with this picture?

I guess I've been subjected to one too many 'training' sessions where the instructor was a guy who read the book a chapter ahead of us poor slugs who were going to have to put the information to use.

That being said, I'd much rather see somebody who'd been around system protection long enough to be able to speak on common schemes off the knowledge already in his head than try to do the training having just read the book.

I've conducted some of these training sessions myself and I find that theoretical knowledge coupled with field application, both modulated by what the class actually has installed inside their fences, makes for good instruction.

And don't get me started on classes given by 'sales engineers'...

old field guy