Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

industrial wood shop DC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clymber

Mechanical
Jan 7, 2003
US
As an amateur woodworker on the side, I was pleased when my next work assignment was to design a dust collection system for an industrial wood shop (Maybe this will inspire me to move beyond the shop vac in my garage). However, since I am new to the HVAC design world, I've got a few questions.

Apparently this will be a basic woodworking shop. No finishing, just multiple BS, DP, TS(3), RAS, and a surface planer.

My basic idea is a cyclone separator for the big stuff followed by a cartridge-type DC. Obviously the fan should be sized for all equipment operating at once. However, instead of a mega-sized constant speed blower, are variable-speed devices used?

I'm envisioning a flow or pressure measuring device linked to a variable speed drive on the fan. Airflow would vary based on demand. Automatic blast gates on individual equipment would open when the equipment is started and vice versa.

Does anybody have experience with similar systems or is it easier just to keep the basic CV system?

I would also expect that the DC equipment would be located outside and fresh air make-up would be required to cover the exhaust stream(independent of the conditioned air). Is this right?

TIA.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

no vsd

use the industrial hygenists handbook

you have to keep the air velocity high enough so you convey it into the collector

4000 fpm seems to ring a bell (dry dust)

you should be at 12" on the fan

i use torit mfr in the past, with "sock" after-filters and silencer, check codes for recirc restrictions due to combustible wood dust, its been some time since i eng one