Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Inexpensive printing of RFID prototype antenna? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

rjrunningute

Electrical
Jan 19, 2011
US
I would like to build an inexpensive prototype of an RFID tag style antenna on a flexible substrate using printed electronics.

I am very new to this technology so I hope some of you can help point me in the right direction. I have contacted a few printing companies and they have all told me that to print a prototype would cost about $1000 to $2000. I have a very limited budget and this sounds ridiculously high considering the cost of materials is just a few pennies and I am providing the artwork file.

Does anyone know of a company that provides printing services that would cost more in the range of $100 - $200 or less?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Printing conductive inks is not something the average printer handles, so you're limited in who you can contact. You may be able to get the local university to metallize a film and photo etch it yourself. Another possible option is to find some who uses a RepRap machine and is willing to make one for you.

$100 is pretty darn cheap for a one-off custom print job with such unique materials... just keep that in mind.

Dan - Owner
Footwell%20Animation%20Tiny.gif

Express PCB

Download the free software.

Lay out your antenna on a 3 X 5 card ( approximate dimensions)

you get three in the mail postage paid for $60.00 in the US.

Of course this on a FR4 substrate which may well influence your antenna design.