Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

injection molded panel problem 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

TyWitt

Industrial
Jun 20, 2006
US
Hello,
I am relatively new to injection molding and have been greeted with an issue regarding two lines that appear as cracks radiating out from holes molded into our facia panels where we mount switches. They appear to be where the plastic flows around the mounting hold feature in the mold and meet plastic from the other side. It does not appear to adversly affect the strength of the part but is still not desirable.
Do you have any suggestions on cause/corrective action? Thank you in advance for your assistance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm no processing expert, but here's my take:

You're correct in the fact that it is a knit line. There is no getting around this when molten plastic flows around a standing core, but it is not always visible. Knit lines can be problematic from a strength standpoint if they are in areas of interest with regard to part strength, but you say this isn't a concern.

As far as the aesthetics of the part go, you may be able to diminish the visibility of the knit line by gating the part closer to where the knit line forms, thereby increasing the temperature of the melt fronts when they rejoin. Not sure if this is an option without seeing the part.

You may also be able to accomplish the same thing by running the parts at a higher melt temperature. This may cause other problems from a processing standpoint. Getting a process engineer involved would be a good thing.......