Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

injection molding

Status
Not open for further replies.

sisom

Mechanical
Aug 18, 2005
US
i've been having a problem with our injection molding machine. the machine would run okay for about 20-30 parts then stop resulting in a hot motor. i'm really not an expert in hydraulics so any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks,
mike

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What is getting hot, the hydraulic motor, electric motor or both?

If the pressure has been increased it could cause either to get hot if you have a variable displacement pump. The hydraulic fluid would get hot if the pressure was increased beyond the bypass setting.

Electric motors get hot when load beyond their capability. If you have increased pressure with same flow you are using more power. Is the incoming voltage to HPU correct and balanced?

Need to know more details. What type of pump do you have? What is history of machine before this problem?

Barry1961

thanks for helping me out a little barry. the electric motor gets hot. the control panel says thermocouple 2 or 1 faults and to check the thermocouple and ground strap whenever the machine stops. it's been about every 45min now. flow rate for the pump is 1.54gpm, pump motor is 2hp. i don't think it's a variable displacement by the schematic shown (only one arrow pointing up. that's what i got for now. thanks again.

I would have thought that the thermocouples would be used to monitor the temperature of the plastic at the hot end of the injection screw chamber. Most HPU’s that size just use a standard motor and motor starter with overload relay not thermocouples.

Thermocouples are used to measure temperature fairly accurately and are used to regulate the heat chamber commonly.