Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Insertion type Magmeter? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

bioengr82

Bioengineer
Jan 4, 2005
US
The RO supplier for a plant we are building swears that their insertion type magmeters (Signet) are just as good as tube type. I'm not an expert, but I just don't see how this is possible. Given the assumptions needed by an insertion type meter is it even possible to establish a percent accuracy? Does anyone have experience with the two?

Any input is appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Insertion type magmeters were specified in a plant I was involved with back in the late '80's. They were specified as a less expensive alternative to tube type magmeters. One service was concentrated sulphuric acid where they were eventually replaced with tube type. The insertion type did not have the correct materials of construction for the service. Another service was cooling water return to a four cell cooling tower where they were used to balance the flow between the cells. The mounting nozzles were too long initially and the probe wasn't even in the flow stream. This problem was eventually corrected and they provided only general indication of flow rate. I would not use them if you wanted to accurately meter a fluid.

Thanks sulphuric. Those were some of our general worries, and it is good to have them confirmed by the voice of experience. I think it will end up a compromise for cost purposes; use insertion on some of the less important metering points and insist on a tube magmeter at the effluent and influent.

jaimeappolinario-
I belive they are both magnet flow meters operating on the same basic principle. I refer to both as 'magmeter'.