Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Inspections, Testing, and when they need to be completed 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnnnyBoy

Structural
Oct 13, 2015
CA
I am a junior engineer with multiple more senior engineers in the office who all seem to slightly disagree about inspections and when/if they should be done along with testing. This thread is more an opinion on what and when certain things should be required by the structural engineer of the project.

- Pile Cage Reinforcement

My firm does not typically do pile cage inspection, is this wrong and should always be completed?

- Grade Beam and Slab Reinforcement

My firm always completed these for most commercial projects as a requirement, for residential/small project where we do not need to submit compliance letter we typically do not.

- Concrete Testing

My firm does not normally require concrete testing although we do normally ask it be part of the contractors QA/QC and we typically analyses the results for structural slabs and beams. Should this be part of our QA/QC and ensure that all structural elements always be tested, as we would easily get backlash from clients.

The reason I ask this question now is because recently concrete test results came back as part of the contractors scope for a structural slab and it failed, we have also had it fail on a slab on grade (less important but still a failure). We did not ask for testing on the piles, gradebeam or a certain section of beams although my concern is they may also be less than specified.

I would love to hear your thoughts.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you