Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Installing Load Cell at the top of a Moving Platform 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gustavo Silvano

Industrial
Aug 12, 2016
BR
Hello there!

I'm an Electrical Engineer here in Brazil, and I'm currently working at a steelmill plant. I'm working on a project where I want to measure the weight of a load. Currently we have a kind of car that is moved by a pneumatic cylinder. This car go forward and backward constantly. What I want to do is to install 4 load cells on the top of each car, and a steel sheet on top of the load cell, so that the weight will be equally distributed along all load cells.
My question is, this car moves, as I said before, and the cylinder of the car goes up and down. But when I'll measure the weight, the car will be stationary.
I want to know is, will this arreagment be effective? Do you guys see any problem with this project?
Remember that the two cars will be installed with load cells, so that the load will be placed only at the top of the load cells.
The picture attached will show you something similar of what I want.

Best regards.

Gustavo

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=21589d95-7d30-497f-bc2c-3f70211697b0&file=Load_Cell.jpg
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You will need some exceptionally rugged load cells, but I see no reason why your plan won't work, as long as the system is regularly calibrated. Friction, warps/dents and resulting side-loading of the load cells will need to be allowed for, but well designed load cells can be had that are insensitive to such. I do wonder why a single load cell wouldn't work, or at most 3.