Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Interesting Motor rebuild (maybe) 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

DBCox

Automotive
Apr 9, 2003
US
Hello everyone,

I have a question that hopefully you guys can help me with. I am a mechanical engineer and like to dable in some electrical stuff, but am no good at it. Anyway, I need to re-build a small DC motor. Here is the scenerio:

I have a vehicle modified for a wheelchair that uses a gull-wing style door. The fabricators that built it used a window lift motor from a lincoln continental to lift the door open as they are easy to find and relatively cheap. If you are not familar with window lift motors, they are small DC motors (~3" OD and 4-5" long) with a worm drive reduction.

In all reality, this motor is not big enough to lift the door reliably with the current gearing and frequency of use, but I am stuck with all of that due to size, time, and $$ constraints. I replace this motor ~1 time per year as it will usually wear out in 13-14 months to the point it will not lift the door all the way.

The problem is, the motor is no longer available new, only refurbished. I have tried three different brands from cheap to expensive and non of them are capable of lifthing the door all the way. So, it boils down to the remanufactured motor does not have as much torque my old motor that is wearing out quickly. All of the gearing is the same.

I have three options:
1. Add assist to the door (like a gas shock found on rear hatches)
2. Change the gear reduction
3. Rebuild the motor for a higher torque.