Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Intermittent Popping sounds in Roof Structure 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

msquared48

Structural
Aug 7, 2007
US
I have a project where the client is hearing periodic popping sounds in his plant manyfactured roof structure after 30 years, He has the original owner and has structural drawings that I am studying. Two locations are involved, one at a major girder truss location, and the other near a hip master. Of what I could observe in the attic space, the truss structure looked good. There is no outside evidence of any sliding or rotational settlement, no Sheetrock cracking and do impaired doors.

I am mystified, with no overload conditions in the recent past, why two different locations would be acting up after 30 years of silence.

Anyone ever run into a similar situation? The client is really disconcerted and looking for answers.

Mike McCann, PE, SE (WA)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Skyscrapers have had this happen when there are short-slotted connections that are snug tight end eventually "slip" into place, then make a very loud "pop" as they bolt hits the end of the slotted hole in the shear tab. This has been noted to happen anywhere from one year to multiple years down the road. This could be developed from a loss of friction between the bolt/nut/plate over time due to various reasons, which could explain what causes it to happen so far down the road versus specifically with high loading or high temperature stresses.

I am not sure the applicability to your situation, that is just one of the instances I have heard of this "popping" in structures.