Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Is it recommended to damage bolt threads after installing? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eng0410

Structural
Dec 29, 2022
US
I am a graduate engineer and have been reviewing steel framing shop drawings for a project. I've noticed that the fabricator has noted on the connection details the following: "Fingertight & damage threads after installing". The members being connected are HSS, angles and WF with A325N bolts with long and short-slotted holes.

I wonder what is the idea behind damaging the threads after installation?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Eng0410

The idea behind damaging threads after assembly is to stop the nut coming loose on the thread due to vibration etc.

“Do not worry about your problems with mathematics, I assure you mine are far greater.” Albert Einstein

It sounds like a poorly designed joint.

The trouble with "damaging the thread" is how does one determine if the threads are sufficiently damaged to prevent loss of the fastener?

A pin or shouldered bolt would provide a more reliable result.

Is the slotted hole for tolerance or to allow movement? If movement then finger tight is OK and either 'wrecking' the threads, or using Loctite Red is the way I go... else 'snug tight' (a lot more than finger tight).

-----*****-----
So strange to see the singularity approaching while the entire planet is rapidly turning into a hellscape. -John Coates

-Dik

I see this type scenario with large diesel engines. The flywheel end of the engine gets torqued and pinned into place. The opposite end has enlarged bolt holes and is torqued to ~25%. Nylock or jam nuts are used. This allows the joint to slip some for thermal expansion. It's quite loud when it moves.