Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Is power cut explained in simple term possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bbird

Civil/Environmental
Aug 6, 2003
GB
I am not an electrical engineer but have worked in power industry all the time. Power cuts are fact of life and we have them all the time, except in recent years they seem to spread to a much wider area.

Without prejudging the outcome of the investigation into the American black out 14 August 2003 there seems to be ample evidence of poor management of the grid system by the owners, competition between regional and national regulatory agencies without a workable protection scheme in place and a antiquated transmission system.

The 28 August 2003 power cut to London was reported due to a part failure of a transmission grid. There were suggestions that the severe disruption to the London Underground could be linked to the company abandoning its own power gerating stations and in favour of relying solely on the national grid.

The 23 Sepytember 2003 black out in Danmark and especial at the capital was initaited by transmission line linked to Sweden.

The 28 September 2003 black out to the whole nation of Italy was blamed on the failure of the transmission line from Switzerland. Italy apparently imports up to 17% of its power from outside. If something goes wrong in the border transmission line the exporters cut the loss and keep the power for their own countries leaving the importer to suffer.

The above cases seem to suggest that individual power providers no longer have a reasonable spare of power output and have to depend on the interconnected system. The over-reliance of the "system" led to its partial failure and the wide spread power cut.