Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Is the AISC STEEL CONSTRUCTION MANUAL as complicated as it looks? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

curiousmechanical

Mechanical
Dec 14, 2006
US
Hello,

I am a mechanical engineer. I have been designing industrial equipment for the past eight years. I am somewhat of a reference book junky and I recently purchased the AISC STEEL CONSTRUCTION MANUAL (14th Edition). This book seems very useful, but it also seems like it might be over my head. On occasion, I need to design service platforms for our equipment. I thought this book might help me do a better job.

So here’s my question:

Is this book something that a mechanical engineer should be able to use; with a reasonable learning curve? Or, is this book very specialized and only useful to hardcore structural engineers? Right now, I am completely clueless. I don’t know anything about LRFD, ASD, etc. Also, I am worried this book will require the reference of other AISC standards. I don’t have an AISC membership and I don’t plan to buy any more structural reference books. If this book isn’t as complicated as it looks, does anyone have any advice on how to get up to speed quickly (i.e. how to learn the basic concepts, so I can take advantage of the various tables and formulas)?

Thank you for your help everyone!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It's very complicated to apply the specification direct from scratch. I've been doing steel design for 35 years and the code seems to have added a lot of new slenderness and other checks. Most of us use the tables, charts or other design tools as much as we can. These have accounted for almost all the oddball rules.