Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

is there a way to stop refreshing the edges in a fairly complex object

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjanes

Computer
Mar 12, 2013
US
I am trying to manipulate two objects in 2013 and my system seems to have difficulties when trying to do a combine on those two objects. I can't select either because the refresh of the edges seems to always start over each time I move my cursor. I am new to Solidworks so it may be a simple setting but I can't find it or even what it may be called so I can look for it.
To give you some background I sketched three shapes in the front plane, extruded them. Then I moved to the right plane and sketched three more shapes extruded them and then tried to combine and leave only pieces common to both objects.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Sounds more like a graphics issue to me. A few simple extrudes shouldn't be causing such pain, IMO. What are your system specs, including video card and driver?

Jeff Mirisola
My Blog

Not too good with videos yet....yes I need to learn....just no time right now.... but I can descibe the issue so you can replicate.
The object was an experiment. Have you ever seen those cube shapes that when you look at it on one side you see one word and then if you look at a different word you see a different word. That was what I was trying. I went to the Right plane and sketched "N E A T" using just lines no text. I then extruded it to make object1. Then went to the Front plane, and sketched 'I T E M' and then extruded that into object two. I made sure the extrusion width and depth matched on each object. Made them overlap completely. That is when things started going nuts on me. I wanted to use the combine command and end up with only the parts of each object common to both. Hope this helps It may be a resource issue have to check that.