Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Is this a good idea 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

ME82

Mechanical
Feb 5, 2005
US
working 40hrs and doing full-time schooling in mechanical engineering courses. I really do not want to do this, but i do not have many options left to choose from.

My goal is to complete all the lower division classes and then hopefully end up getting a part time job so i can concentrate on the upper division courses.

So far everyone is saying this is suicide, what do u think.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

ME82,

I was in the same situation when I completed my undergrad degree. If I had to do it all over again, I would've taken out some student loans because the lower division classes are really the foundation of upper division. I can tell you it will be a tough road but not impossible. Depending on your location most firms offer great parttime student engineer positions that pay above average wages compared to retail. Do not short change your future investment by working yourself into an early grave [hammer]

Best Regards,

Heckler
Sr. Mechanical Engineer
SW2005 SP 2.0 & Pro/E 2001
Dell Precision 370
P4 3.6 GHz, 1GB RAM
XP Pro SP2.0
NIVIDA Quadro FX 1400
o
_`\(,_
(_)/ (_)

Do you trust your intuition or go with the flow?

I think it will be very tough. Even lower division classes(which I assume are the US equivalent to core courses like calc, physics, humanities etc.) will require a good deal of time, if nothing else just physically going to class. A typical semester load would be 4-6 classes. There's probably no avoiding 14-16 hour days, every day. If your classes meet once a week at night, they're usually 2 1/2 - 3 hours long. If they meet 2 or 3 times a week during the day, you'll have to make up missed time at work. This leaves weekends for all assignments, studying, sleep, etc and a few minutes for your sanity.