Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Knowing what structural system (floor) is best

Status
Not open for further replies.

StrEng007

Structural
Aug 22, 2014
US
When you all design the horizontal portion of your structures (particularly floor systems), how do you determine which system is actually the best in terms of cost and performance? We're all taught, or self-taught, how to design different systems out of the most conventional materials... but knowing which one is most appropriate takes a certain amount of seasoning.

Most of the time, I find this decision being guided by the GC/Arch (depending on contract) who has the reigns in appropriate cost and performance for fire ratings etc. A lot of these decisions are also based on past projects, what is deemed acceptable per jurisdiction, and what a contractor is familiar with.

However, I often find myself in situations where I'm not sure which floor system is appropriate, such as pre-engineered floor trusses, concrete slabs 1-way or 2-way, composite joists with topping slab (Hambro). I've used all of these systems on different structures (Note: I don't mess around with post-tensioned slabs).

I'm really interested to know how you all approach this. As a reference, my of my work consists of mid to high end residential (up to 2 or 3 stories) and moderately sized commercial (up to 2 stories).

Replies continue below

Recommended for you