Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Koyo CLICK PLC Ladder Logic Architecture 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 10, 2003
US
Hello All:

I am in the preliminary design of a system to control various laser safety tri-color beacons utilizing a Koyo CLICK PLC. I have very little recent PLC experience.

The system will support multiple stations looking at various laser and shutter control signals to decode the proper lamp illumination in addition to controlling AC mains contactors and firing of a laser.
Have a question about the overall ladder logic architecture-

One feature I would like to incorporate is checking for for errors:
If a station interlock is not present (cable between PLC and station unplugged).
If the AC mains contactor auxilary contact shows contactor closed when it is supposed to open (contactor stuck closed).

My thought was the first few rungs would check for these errors. If an error detected set an internal register bit ON and load another register with an integer error code.
If error bit is ON then jump to a subroutine to flash lights in a specific pattern. Specific pattern to flash would be determined by the numeric error code.
Turn the AC mains contactor output OFF.
Return from subroutine.

Thus if there is an error I do not want to update other ouputs based on all the conditional logic specific to them.
Therefore would I just insert the state of my error bit (NC) in the first column of every rung?
This is what I was planning on doing, would this method be typical or can you suggest alternative methods or potential gotchas?

What about the internal SC bits such as SC26 (watchdog timer error) and SC19 (PLC errors)- should I monitor those too to be safe?