Ks (coefficient of subgrade reaction) in sheet pile design 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

tmalik3156

Structural
Jun 21, 2021
CA
Good day all.
I am new in sheet pile design. The method I know is to apply active and passive pressures and get the moment demand on the sheet pile.
This is like what the diagram shows.

SP_wrcjug.png

Now, the Geotechnical Report provides ks values at different depth (Say 4000 kN / m3 at 10 m below ground etc.)
I wonder where and how I should incorporate ks in the analysis!
In fact, I wonder if ks values are required in sheet pile design at all.

Your help is appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If you are doing relatively simple hand calculations, k[sub]s[/sub] probably is not needed. If you are doing the sheet pile design with a slope stability program or a program like LPile and you need an accurate wall deflection value, you probably need k[sub]s[/sub].
Often and commonly, simpler design programs just calculate the wall deflection as a structural member deflection without regard to soil movement.

@ PEinc: Thank you for your reply. We have a simple sheet pile software that does use ks as an input. We can not find any theory or example of sheet pile design where ks has been used.

Most text books and design manuals for sheeting walls are modelled as structural calculations for the support member (pile or sheet) using on soil, water, and surcharge loads. The calculations are essentially hand calculations programmed for the computer. They usually do not consider soil movement. What program are you using?

PEinc said:
What program are you using?

We are using SPW911. This program does not seem to take Modulus of Subgrade Reaction ks as an input. So we think it uses the classical equilibrium approach that you described.

The Geotechnical Report we received recommends Finite Element model using soil springs having ks stiffness.