Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Laboratory Fume Hood Exhaust Fan Information

Status
Not open for further replies.

nuuvox000

Mechanical
Sep 17, 2019
US
Hello, I am a relatively new engineer and I am trying to design an exhaust fan for a fume hood. I am having trouble figuring out when a "laboratory" exhaust fan is required and if bypass air is required for dilution. Our client will be using Methylene chloride and potassium chloride; I have the data sheets and evaporation rates (relative to butyl acetate) but I can't find information on when a proper laboratory exhaust fan and bypass air is required. I have searched for a few hours online and through ASHRAE HVAC applications and the industrial ventilation manual but I'm having a tough time coming up with answers. If anyone can point me in the right direction, that would be great! Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Since you have double posted this into the Local Exhaust ventilation forum which may be a better place for it, I suggest you either link the two posts or redflag one of them so you are not double posting. the double post dilutes the answers you receive because not everybody looks in both forums.
B.E.

You are judged not by what you know, but by what you can do.

There's a lot of moving parts to this analysis, and since this sounds like it could have safety implications you need to get solid direction from more senior engineers that you work with.