Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Laminate plate buckling analysis with Femap NX Nastran

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruna_Mara

Feb 11, 2020
BR
Hello!
I'm an engineering student and I’m trying to learn about laminate plate buckling with FEM analysis, so I did the finite element model and used the linear bifurcation analysis (linear buckling - LBA), but the results are not as expected, according to the reference article that I was following.
The analysis was made for different fiber angle in each ply [+θ/-θ/+θ], the FEM model is in the link below. The graphic below show the reference results (made by Ritz-method) and the LBA. The critical buckling for +-75 and +-90 are accurate, but the other angles are not. The analysis was performed with Femap and NX Nastran.
Capturar_3_zv5d4w.jpg

I am trying to identify what could I have done wrong. Does anyone have any idea what I may have done wrong?
The article reference is: BUCKLING STUDIES FOR SIMPLY SUPPORTED SYMMETRICALLY LAMINATED RECTANGULAR PLATES. Yoshihiro Narita. Arthur W. Leissa
Thank you very much!

2_rea4gu.jpg

Capturar_m1adzv.jpg

The model: (the maximum that can be uploaded is 20mb, I had to upload into the drive and share the link.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The "Plate Mesh" program can address this problem (see the link below). This may help you understand where where the discrepancy is coming from (your FEM or the classical solution).