Large drawing set - raster to vector - AutoCAD - advice needed 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

USAeng

Mechanical
Jun 6, 2010
US
Hey all,

I have very large full set of drawings of our plant that are just scanned from 1983. I have been tasked with converting the old PDF to AutoCAD. We just got CAD software here - I used Solidworks for a year at my last job so I'm a beginner but am not afraid to put in the work. I do have some familiarity with the program.

I feel like I might be in over my head at the moment... I just started looking at it and the task seems daunting when looking at this method (see LINK below) for so many large drawings - but I usually can do anything I put my mind to.

Link

The only other idea is I can suggest subbing this out to an experienced firm. What is the typical method used to accomplish this task?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

To be fair, I haven't used AutoCAD's raster to vector function; it might be orders of magnitude better than the several third party raster to vector converters that I have used.

If it were that good, it would still be crap.

PDFs from scanned drawings typically come in with a bazillion unrelated short line segments, some of which can be interpreted by a human as just a light line from a dirty original, or the dirt, and some of which can be interpreted by a human as the line element atomic decomposition of alphanumeric characters. Computers are basically hopeless for this sort of stuff.

You might farm it out for redraw to a low cost labor company. You can find much discussion about that on this site. I probably wouldn't.

I would be inclined to redraw the whole set myself.
... but NOT in AutoCAD. I'd model it in Solidworks, then export .DWG files using SW. Maybe you can rent a SW seat for a while.

I have ~30 years of experience with bare AutoCAD, and I'm not the slowest drafter I know.

I'm _way_ quicker to usable drawings using Solidworks, with my mere 3 years of OJT.