Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Laterally Loaded Pile in Cohesive Soil 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

MasterrrrBlasterrrr

Structural
Oct 15, 2011
AU
Hi

I am a structural engineer asking a soil mechanics question.
Not after an in-depth answer to the following.

Why is the ultimate capacity of cohesive soil to restrain a laterally loaded pile related to the Undrained shear strength of the soil?
EG, Broms Theory uses 9*Cu.

My basic understanding is that undrained behaviour relates to load that is applied in the short term, and water cannot drain from the pores between the soil particles.
What I do not understand is that - for loads that are applied in the long term, where drainage can occur - why is it applicable to use Cu?
Or - for short term loads that are applied to cohesive soils that have mainly air in the voids, not water: Why is it applicable to use Cu as opposed to C'?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You indicated that you were not looking for an indepth answer, so I'll try.

Generally, the assumption with cohesive soils is that the short term (i.e. undrained) soil properties control and that the long term properties of the soil are better.

Note that this is not allways the case, particuarly with heavily overconsolidated clays.

Mike Lambert

Hi GeoPaveTraffic

Thanks for the reply.

The following discussion is intended for the benefit of my general understanding.
In a real project I would rely on the advice of the project geotechnical engineer

I would like to raise a specific design example to talk further on this subject.
The example is a cantilever soldier pile shoring wall.
Lets say - pile diameter of 450mm at 2.0m centres, cantilevering H = 3.0m, supporting stiff clay with Cu = 50kPa.