Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Leak in Raw Water Reservoir for Potable Water Treatment Plant

Status
Not open for further replies.

TJH2161

Civil/Environmental
May 15, 2020
US
I am an engineer for a local water system in south Louisiana. We have a raw water reservoir that was constructed out of gunnite. It was constructed about 40 years ago. We did some testing recently to determine our low level draw down of the reservoir and during that test we noticed quite a few spots where there were holes in the gunnite surface. Looks like there has been some pretty severe erosion of the soil behind the gunnite as I could not even see the soil behind the holes in some spots. Earlier this week an operator informed me the level is very soft at one spot and it is clear that the water is starting to seep through the levee and causing some maintenance issues with cutting grass. I was curious if anyone has ran into similar problems and a possible low cost solution to fix it. I've dobne some research to try to find some products to patch these areas but am not having much luck. Any suggestions on products that could be used to patch these holes? Ideally the product would be able to be placed in wet conditions. Appreciate any help I can get. Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you