Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

LEAN Certification Opportunities

Status
Not open for further replies.

debodine

Electrical
Sep 23, 2004
US
Sorry in advance for the long background info blurb below, but I am trying to give potential responders enough information to help them focus their responses without having to do a lot of back and forth posts.

My company has decided to invest in LEAN operations and engineering. I am a project engineer, not management, but I would like to show my willingness to support the process by obtaining a LEAN certification on my own if possible.

I have searched the internet for the basics as well as searching and reading the threads here on Eng-Tips.

I have found LEAN Certification programs from which has Bronze, Silver and Gold certifications that would cost me a few thousand to go all the way to the top (Gold), and I found which has a Project Management LEAN rating of Expert on sale for $99 at this time.

I realize you get what you pay for so I am assuming that the $99 rating is similar to the diploma mills we often read about on these forums, so I will consider that an outlier and drop it. But is the most cost effective way to go for a genuine, industry recognized LEAN certification?

I am not deliberately trying to slam as I don't know anything about them, and if I was confident I would receive an industry accepted LEAN certification for only $99 I would jump at the chance. But experience has taught me that such a large gap in costs usually means the low cost options would be regarded in a similar manner to an undergraduate engineering degree from a non-ABET online course...in other words, not considered to be "the real thing" (and usually for good reason).

I don't want to go to management with a LEAN certification that gets me laughed at for being a diploma mill (again that is only my assumption), but I don't want to spend thousands out of my own pocket if hundreds (or less) will do.