Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Learning Chinese to increase ones marketability

Status
Not open for further replies.

Histogram

Industrial
Apr 28, 2008
US
What would be the most useful Chinese dialect for a Quality Engineer to learn? The reason is to make myself more marketable. I have 13 years in Quality Engineering and a total of 26 years of Engineering in metal fabrication and welding.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am not really an expert in this area, but my son has been over there for about two years. I believe that Mandarin is the official language except in two major provinces where Cantonese is the official language. There are many local dialects and if you are asking which local dialect would be best I am sorry I don't have a clue. But I would think Mandarin would be your best choice unless you will spend most of your time in the provinces that use Cantonese.

I am sure others with more experiences in China can give better information than I can.

I used to live in Singapore and have travelled to China many times. Learning one dialect will not be guaranteed to work for you in every situation, but Mandarin is probably your best bet.

Good luck,
Latexman

The most useful dialect is "Engrish".

I did take the equivalent of two semesters of Mandarin, plus travel to Shanghai and Suzhou. Work-wise, I don't think it helped much. It did help in making friends and getting around town.

For me, the biggest shock in travelling to China is becoming functionally illiterate. It's spooky to not be able to read and decipher signs.

There are way too many dialects to adequately cover China, as a whole.

Mandarin is supposed to be the official language, as debodine indicates, but, in any given region, local dialects are often spoken between native speakers in that region, and in many cases, the dialects are so divergent that they might as well be a different foreign language, particularly in the case of local idioms.