Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Learning Exel VBA

Status
Not open for further replies.

normm

Structural
Jan 29, 2008
GB
I am trying to learn and practise VBA coding. I am absolute beginner. I find most references and books written on this subject are written with financial people in mind and soon drop me in subjects like Pivot table etc which are not of my immediate interest. So I have given myself a very simple starter project:

I know the x y co-ordinates of a series of points. Which represent nodes of a shape like rectangle, circle, polygon etc. How can I write a VBA program that will draw the shape to scale from these node points using Excel.

If you can help me writing the steps or help me where can I find VBA code examples of such simple tasks in a book or website, it will get me started and I will appreciate it.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You will get better and faster results if you learn the official terminology used by excel and vba and use them as keywords in searches (Often supplied in the excel tooltips). Microsoft has an official reference page so you don't need to go to financial examples for the basics

as for your request,

You won't make much progress if searching for examples is already stumping you , so try to improve that as it will be very beneficial in the long run

Normm - There is a Visual Basic forum on Engineering tips.

I have posted in there before and received a lot of help.

Also, Youtube is a good source of videos on vba. And the website UDEMY has self paced classes. Some of the classes are good; and some bad.....but they are very cheap (in the $20 range), so it's not a huge investment.

I'm a VBA fan.......people keep saying it's a dead programming language, but I disagree!