Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Learning from mistakes 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

jball1

Mechanical
Nov 4, 2014
US
I am a structural analyst with two years’ experience as an analyst and two years’ experience as a design engineer. Recently I completed an analysis, wrote the report and sent it to the internal customer (design engineer). He thought that there must be a mistake in my FEM representation of a connection, because he thought the stresses were unreasonably high. The high stresses were going to force a design change which, although small, would be frustrating for the external customer. I kept telling him that the way I modeled the connection was consistent with our typical practice. He kept making the same comment. This was irritating to me, as I was pretty confident that I was in the right. Also, the way he worded his comments was pretty condescending. My model and post-processing had been checked, and so my boss took my side, and overruled the design engineer.

For various reasons, this particular report sat for over a month before it was going to get signed off. Since I knew it was going to sit for a little while, and since I had a little down time this week, I decided to go back into the model to see whether making one small change to how the connection is modeled would affect the results. It was not a change that he suggested, but it was an idea that came to me and I figured I’d give it a try. In looking at the model with fresh eyes, I realized that I actually had made a mistake - not in the way I modeled the connection, but in the material property assigned to the connection. It was a simple, dumb mistake. I fixed the material property, and sure enough, the stresses came down to more reasonable levels.