Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Leave Engineering for IT? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prowler6484

Electrical
Aug 30, 2005
US
I am a telecom engineer and have been offered a position by our IT department. The engineering department I have been working in for 10 years has been fine but I can tell it is a dead end for my career. It seems all of the projects in engineering follow the lines of "this is what we have done for the past 30 years" and the technology does not change; I do work for a utility. This new position offers a flex time environment and the chance to ramp up my skills in new technologies.

I'm wondering if anyone has experience moving from engineering into IT. I'm afraid that the IT managers may not appreciate the amount of work that went into an electrical engineering degree. I'm also working on my MS in cyber security which I'm guessing is why the IT department approached me about this position. Pay is about the same initially, but less in the long run.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I worked in IT for 3 years, not by choice. I hated it. Meetings to talk about the next meeting, managers not understanding what their teams do, etc.
I used CAD, so managers thought "Hey, you use computers...lets move you into IT!". ugh
IT was the first to get hit in layoff.

I'm happy to be back in engineering.

Chris, CSWA
SolidWorks 13
ctopher's home
SolidWorks Legion

Seems like your cyber security would be a good fit for protecting your utility from both external threats like Stuxnet, and internal threats like sloppy users. But, if you're expecting to do original and new work, that sounds less likely. More likely, is just buying existing solutions, and monitoring the system for threats and intrusions.

TTFN
faq731-376