Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Leaving management 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

KSor

Mechanical
Sep 25, 2006
CA
I am wondering if anyone else here has had the experience of leaving management and returning to an individual contributor role? I’ve been in management for the past few years, but if I’m honest with myself the stress and daily tasks leave me burned out and unsatisfied. I much more enjoy my days when I can get into the grind and actually do something technical. Has anyone done this and regretted it? Not done it and wished they had?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes, I did that when I moved from sales to R&D. I was a regional manager (the mid-west) and had about 16 people in my group. I had had the job for about 18 months when I was offered a staff position to the VP of development. Since my degree and background was in engineering, I decided that I could be a bigger contributor to the success of the company in the new role, so I didn't think twice, despite it involving a cross-country move. I remained in R&D holding various technical positions for the next 28+ years. It was the best move I ever made.

John R. Baker, P.E. (ret)
EX-Product 'Evangelist'
Irvine, CA
Siemens PLM:
UG/NX Museum:

The secret of life is not finding someone to live with
It's finding someone you can't live without

I have not done this myself but several of my colleagues have - either within the same company or by leaving to go to another company. The idea is if you are going to be doing something for the next X years you should be enjoying most of that time.

My very first boss was actually an individual that was a "rising star, unlimited potential, next chief engineer" type but he knew he was not cut out for management and very happily road out a 30+ year career in the same product development position