Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Level Transmitters vs. Leve Gauge Readings 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bal.

Chemical
Jun 26, 2018
AE
Hi All,

Hope you're all doing well.

I'm a chemical engineer and am new in this forum.

Currently, I am calculating the corrosion inhibitor availability using the difference in the tank levels that are measured using level transmitters (magnetic level indicators). I tried to compare the level transmitter values with the level gauge values and they showed a difference ranging between 28 L and 81 L. I'm not sure which one is more accurate. However, high corrosion inhibitor availability is required in this system and inaccuracies in the measurements are really undesired.

Have you encountered such differences between level transmitter and level gauge readings? which one is more reliable? what are the possible reasons? and how to rectify?

I appreciate your responses.

Many thanks,
Bal.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What do you mean by magnetic? Magnetostrictive ?

Or a float whose internal magnet flips the colored flags (with a crude chain of resistors to create a stepped continuous output)?

What technology is the ’transmitter’ you refer to?

Level is inherently ’distance’ from an arbitrary datum bottom point. Where/how is the volume (L) calculated from?

Roughly, what are dimensions and maximum volume capacity of the vessel?

What are the characteristics of corrosion inhibitor? Self cleaning like alcohol? Viscous? Made from hydrocarbon stock?

It could well be due to the different principle of measurement.
The level gauge is probably using a float which will be partially immersed whereas the transmitter could be bouncing a signal off the surface.