Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Lexan melting and using in silicone putty based molds

Status
Not open for further replies.

stringpickin1

Mechanical
Mar 26, 2013
US
Hello and good day.. Among other things I am a guitarist and have been trying to develop the perfect glue-on finger nail for finger-picking guitar players.. I have used acrylics personally for the last 25 years and have tried the old ping pong ball to gel, to lexan sheets bent and glued to my nails..

I want to make a mold of the acrylic nail(s) that I will be removing from my nail I built up on my nail(s) using common acrylic nail powder and monomer liquid. I then will embed them in the AeroMarine Silicone Rubber Putty material to create my two part molds.

Then I have in mind to melt lexan(probably from sheets I can easily acquire)..

My question(s).. Do you think I would need to use a a mold release. W
What would you recommend that I melt the lexan in.. steel pan, aluminum, ??
Am I believing that I will be able to pour melted lexan in these molds but yet it may not work because lexan when melted won't fill the mold without getting air bubbles or???
Any input is greatly appreciated..

I appreciate your help and advice, and mostly your time.. thank you..

string

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Be very careful when pouring this material. To get Polycarbonate plastic to flow well it has to be heated to close to 400degrees farenheit.
This is like playing with melted solder. if there is the slightest bit of moisture in your mold you will get more than just air bubbles, you will get an explosion.
Use a steel pan for heating the lexan and preheat your mold to at least 300 degrees.
B.E.