Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Liability of a PE owning a small construction business 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Orion44

Civil/Environmental
Feb 12, 2016
US
I am a licensed professional civil engineer and have worked as a consultant for 10 years. Before I received my degree I worked in construction for many years. I've always wanted to get back on the construction side of the business and i am considering starting my own small construction business. I believe I can get the appropriate licenses but my biggest concern is whether I would have added liability by being a licensed professional as a contractor. Anyone out there have any experience with this?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes, almost exactly.

It wasn't me but my partner was a PE for a while and then got into big civil construction for about 10 years, and then did engineering for 15 years, and then opened a civil construction company about 7 years ago.

I know they spent a lot of time with the different insurance companies to make sure everything was straight, but never really had any issues at all. Where the engineer issue hurt the company was that he was so meticulous about submittals, bidder design work and other paperwork that he continually ran his overhead costs too high. They did really nice work and the submittals they put together often exceeded the design plans for accuracy and skill. When they found a niche job where the engineering expertise was important they made obscene profits, when they bid standard work they never did worth a darn. The economy floored and the niche work was so rare he went back to just engineering with debt on the construction company. However, the big engineers and contractors remembered the great submittals and he brought back lots of temporary work design, shoring design, and claim work. Which has really rounded out our portfolio so win/loss/win.