Lifting Lug in Major and Minor Barrel in PVELITE 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmallInfo

Petroleum
Oct 30, 2017
PK
Hi Experts,
I am designing a pig receiver with two barrels: a 6-meter major barrel and a 7-meter minor barrel. The barrels are joined by an eccentric reducer. I need to add lifting lugs to the major and minor barrels at different elevations, but PV Elite is placing the lugs at the same elevation as shown in the image. Does anyone have experience adding lifting lugs to different elevations in PVELITE?
Thanks in Advance
engtip_jvttmo.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am not an expert on this matter, but lifting lugs at diferent levels put some dificulties on the lifting of the equipment.

Pig traps are not Pressure Vessels.

So why are you using a PV program?

Also the size is huge. You rarely need major and minor barrels that long.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

littleInch sticking his nose in where it doesn't belong.
Pig Traps can be pressurised, and therefore PV software can be useful in the design.
I'm not very familiar with PVElite, but I would expect that you could model each lug separately, like they were support brackets.

Really?

of course pig traps are pressurised, just like pipelines and pipe, but you don't analyse those designs as though it was a Pressure Vessel do you?

Pig traps are deliberately included in pipeline design codes to avoid mismatches between the design of the two directly connected systems.

If you can avoid the problem in the first place then it solves all the concurrent ones.

I can only guess PV Elite doesn't see many pressure vessels with different diameters welded together.

1) Do the calculations without the computer.
2) Use the same lifting lug for both diameters and lift with a spreader bar.
3) But why use lifting lugs? For horizontal pressure components use slings around the shell,and lift with a spreader bar.

Regards