Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Linear Microstrip Patch Array -- Need Guidance 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jediknight7

Electrical
Aug 15, 2007
US
I am new to antenna design and I am designing an 8x8 microstrip patch 4.9GHz array. Unfortunately, my first prototype results are dissapointing. I am only seeing about 8dBi of gain and my target is 23dBi in the 4.4-4.9GHz band.

Can anyone provide some insight on how they attack development? How much do you rely on simluation vs. testing/debugging? Do you fab out different versions of a starting design with slight variations?

I simulated one row 8x1 in Hfss and it looked really good -- about 15dBi and 1.5:1 VSWR

Also, I was wondering if anyone has experience with PCB prototype milling machines. Are they worth getting for speeding up development? Has anyone here used them before?

For antenna measurement, we are using a system from Diamond Engineering; seems to be very slick so far.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

So long as you get an endmill, proto machines are great if you do not know what the circuit should be like... antennas start to approach the black arts at those frequencies, so the ability to control conductor spacing/width is a huge help.

Your only other option is to lay down a number of small-change iterations and have a board house etch all of them. If none fit the desired profile, figure out what the next set of iterations should look like.

Dan - Owner
Footwell%20Animation%20Tiny.gif

Proto milling machines work very well. However, it takes time to learn how to use them mechanically (mill bit selection, setup, tricks and techniques). Also, it takes time learning the in-and-out of the Gerber conversion software. Don't expect immediate results.