live load on bridge 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

yjung

Civil/Environmental
Dec 29, 2000
US
hi all,

I am a entry level bridge designer in Phoenix. I am having a difficulty on understanding the live load.
Especially i do not understand what is difference between lane load and truck load.
which case i should use lane load and which case i should use truck load to calculate critical live load moment and shear?

and how to deal with distributed load and concentrated load?
i am very confused... please help me. which case i should use distributed load and which case i should use concentrated load?

i did not take any class about truck live load. i only know the live load on building.
please help me. i am having a bad dream everynight.

Thank you so much.

happy new year.

young-chul

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This is an important area for bridge engineers; it is addressed in many texts on bridge design. You should become familar with those texts. Please see the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) section of this forum. Of course AASHTO is imperative to understanding this concern. Also check out at the library of the local university (should be no problem in Phoenix) the AISC reference: Moments, Shear, and Reactions for Continuous Highway Bridges. This publication will make your life easier and it has examples to boot.

Having said that, consider:

First of all know the classes of live loading. Most roads are designed to HS20-44 unless reduced to something lower by a client. All interstate bridges are now designed using HS20-44 Modified or the HS25 vehicle. The lower weight vehicles are H15 and HS15. The difference between H and HS is the number of axles; HS has 3 while H carries load only on 2.

As an example we're going to assume you're working with a HS20-44.