Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Loads on foundations - TOWER 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heverton

Electrical
Aug 18, 2014
BR
Hello everyone, first I would like to say that is a pleasure to join such a great forum with such valuable and helpful information. I’m a trainee in a company that bought TOWER license a time ago, but no one actually knows how to use it, so I’m trying to figure it out by myself.

My main goal is to calculate the loads on foundations. I’ve read some articles saying that (one from Luiz Seiti Hatashita describes almost everything I’m doing) is possible to use PLS-CADD and TOWER, in a simple model, without any bolts, information about KL/r, etc., and in the Summary Report for All load Cases obtain the correct values.
Whenever I run a low tower (<35 m), the test runs fine and I get results that are pretty accurate to the numbers I have. However, when I run the full tower, with extensions and legs, the structure fail to converge (the exact message is: “Problem performing analysis: the model contains error, failed to converge or was canceled. Edit the structure for more details”). I’ll try to be as specific as I can:

1) I’ve created the tower from a full project we have here, with some bolts, and almost the same members (Model 2 Structure);

2) At first I edited the members KL/r and other info, but I found out later that this step isn’t necessary if I just want to know the foundations strengths (I’m not 100% sure about that);

3) Then I open the model on PLS-CADD, using the same cables, tension and others conditions that I have on the tower project. (Using IEC-60826 wind model).

4) In the Menu SECTIONS of the Tower program, I edited the Transverse/ Longitudinal Area Factor (CD from code) with the correct values.