Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Local Radio overlap with Accelerometer Measurements

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuyashP

Mechanical
Sep 3, 2017
AU
Hello there,
I work as a graduate engineer at an acoustic engineering firm here in Sydney. This is week 10 into the job and I'm loving it!
Last week I noticed something very strange while analyzing data from one of our ground-borne noise measurements at a residential property.
We had 3 PCB accelerometers (one per axis) setup in the property's backyard and 3 inside the property. While going through the recordings at the office, I was VERY surprised to hear that the accelerometer had recorded a local (maybe?) radio broadcast! So while I could hear the roadheader I was supposed to be hearing, I was also clearly able to hear the music from a local channel playing South Indian music. Now neither me, nor my colleague, heard anything while on site. Moreover, the accelerometers inside picked up nothing, and neither did the SLM we had setup.
While everyone at the office had a good laugh at this, we couldn't explain why this had happened. Loud music playing far away? Recording was way too clear for that. Signal crossover from an unauthorized radio broadcast? Maybe but how?
Have any one of you ever come across this?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would expect signal pickup by your A/D system or SLM microphone (kid on bike or car drive-by) and not the accelerometers. I have picked up radio when conducting a ship cargo hatch integrity leak test using ultrasound meter.

Walt

Thanks for your reply Walt.