Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Location Tolerance for ID or OD Acting as Secondary Datum Feature

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peter the Engineer

Mechanical
May 7, 2021
US
Hi, I am fairly new to GD&T and still learning from the 2009 GD&T standard book. I noticed that if an ID or OD is used as a secondary datum feature, it is usually not given a location tolerance. Only perpendicularity tolerance is used.
4-9_zfcst3.jpg
4-15_w8msii.jpg

Fig 4-9 and 4-15 from the standard illustrate this. The secondary datum features are only given perpendicularity controls. That being said, are we not controlling the position of these secondary datum features? Are we saying that these secondary datum features are free to float anywhere, just as long as other features that are dependent on them are located based on their actual locations? I am always under the impression that for any given feature, we have to control the location, orientation, form, and size. Thanks masters!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Are we saying that these secondary datum features are free to float anywhere, just as long as other features that are dependent on them are located based on their actual locations?
That's right... that secondary datum feature could be off by a mile and you'd never know it, because everything else on the part will follow that hole (and other datums as referenced).

I am always under the impression that for any given feature, we have to control the location, orientation, form, and size.
Not necessarily -- only control what is needed for complete definition and function.

Peter the Engineer,