Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Looking at TriLogi PLC.. any other low cost alternatives?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guest0527211403

Mechanical
Apr 24, 2004
CA
Hi all,

I have an old project from my last year of college sitting in my basement that I'd like to bring "back to life".

Originally it was controlled using an OMRON CS1G controller, and that was definitely overkill for this control application (those were the PLCs available to us at the time). I had to give the PLC back to the school after I graduated. Actually, I was very happy with the OMRON PLC and its programming software (CX-Programmer). However, the cost of purchasing a new one (even a micro) is a bit of a deterrent, considering this is more of a pet-project.

I have been researching my alternatives, and (through Eng-Tips banners) I have found the TriLogi line of embedded PLCs.

I like the relative size of TriLogi PLCs, and they seem simple enough to program for my application. My application does not require any overly-complicated programming instructions, and I believe that the Ladder+Basic style of programming offered by TriLogi PLCs will work very well for my needs.

However, before I fork out a few hundred dollars on my new control system, I'd like to ask the group if they have had any experiences with these PLCs in the past, postitive or negative. Also, is there anything comparable on the market?

As of now, my criteria are (in order):

1)Form Factor (size)
2)Cost
3)Ease of programming
4)Remote operation (web-based monitoring/control is a plus)

It seems to me that the TriLogi PLCs fit in with all of these. Is there anything else on the market that I should be looking at?