Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

LOOKING FOR DIELECTRIC RESONATOR FROM 400 TO 900 MHz, PLEASE!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marquesa

Electrical
Feb 13, 2006
ES
Hi all,

I am a engineer working in an university. For one of our new projects with a company, we need to find a dielectric resonator in the band of 470 to 860 MHz, with a high Q (as high as possible), and a high temperature stability.

I think this is a bit unusual request, because dielectric resonators usually operate at much higher frequencies. The meterials companies I have contacted so far, don't fabricate any like this. The dielectric resonators they sell resonates as low as 800 MHz, but not lower than that.

Can someone help me? Do someone know if there exist these kind of resonator in the industry? Can someone tell me a company name which fabricates something like this? Can someone tell me if this kind of product is possible from a technicall point of view?

I'm just a bit hopeless!!! I have an interview with the client just in two days!!

Thank you very much!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am not a expert on dielectic resonators but there are types that I have seen used at lower frequencies - they appear in the front end of some UHF radios I have opened-up.

Look at the MuRata K series. They have resonators down to 440 MHz.
At lower frequencies where a resonant structure is used you usually find saw filters, coaxial resonators, or helical resonators.

However, you have not indicated exactly what you are attempting. Is it an oscillator or filter? What do you mean by high temperature stability? - High stability over temperatuer or high temperature operation?